The Diocese of Orlando was established in 1968. The Diocese of Orlando is comprised of 79 parishes and 12 missions, two basilicas, 37 schools, and more than twenty-seven ministries and entities.   Led locally by its fifth Bishop, Most Reverend John Noonan, dedicated clergy, religious women, and members of Christ’s faithful bring forth the body of Christ through the administration of the Sacraments, the sharing of the Word of God and caring for those in need. 

As a thriving and growing community of Catholic faithful, the Diocese of Orlando represents many cultural and ethnic groups, believers of all ages, income levels and education. But they all are united in the universal Catholic Church. In addition to English, Mass is celebrated in the Diocese of Orlando in eight foreign languages: Portuguese, Filipino, Spanish, Polish, Korean, Malayalam, Vietnamese, and Creole. We all call Central Florida home but the Catholic Church is our spiritual home where we share God’s love, experience the sacraments, serve the needy and encourage the distressed. Most of all, we come together for Mass to meet our Savior at the table of the Lord, grow in our relationship with Christ, lead others to holiness and share our blessings.

Catholics of the Diocese of Orlando join together as joy-filled witnesses to hope and are alive in Christ. Learn more about the Catholic Church by clicking What Catholics Believe.


A diocese is a territorial division of the Catholic Church in a region or province. The head of a diocese is referred to as a bishop.

The Diocese of Orlando in Florida was officially established on June 18, 1968. In 1968, there were 50 parishes with 128,000 Catholics. New boundaries were established on July 17, 1984. The Diocese currently encompasses 9,611.11 square miles.

For information regarding the fingerprinting process and safe environment training for volunteers and staff, please click the Diocesan link below.